Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

NETGEAR Wireless Router - AC 1200 Dual Band Gigabit (R6200) Reviews and Coupon

~ Netgear
List Price: $204.99
Price: $127.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $77.00 (38%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

great looking product

look great larger than I thought though. I have not installed as of yet and look forward to putting this to the test.

Published 10 hours ago by Jason Cordero

Awesome router

Easy to install, simple to configure. I no longer buffer when using Netflix and streaming HD movies as I am playing online World of Tanks while my kid plays online Guild wars 2. Read more

Published 3 days ago by W. Mueller

Huge improvement, yes really works

Was recommended by my tech consultant to amp up the power in my large, 3 floor home. The improvement was instant and total.

Published 5 days ago by AlanBike

Replaced my old router

Love the fact that it has a neighbor network as I do not like anyone using mine. Setup was easy and it works great!

Published 8 days ago by AliKat

Great product.

Great product and works well. Genie software is easy to use. Gave the router 4 out of 5 stars because the range could be a little better.

Published 13 days ago by Steven

Nice Router

Good range. Very easy to install. The Genie is a very nice UI to work with. You can easily set up your wireless printers to reserve IP address so that you don't have keep re-adding... Read more

Published 20 days ago by Sharon Monteleone

All the coverage that I need!

This router is fantastic! I have no problems with signals dropping throughout the house and the speed on all of my systems have been great.

Published 20 days ago by Paul Wade

Netgear replacement

Great product, fast, easy to install, great wireless range. Happy with the selection. With my old router, if there were multiple users on-line we would have frequent drops in... Read more

Published 20 days ago by Bl61Stuma

Easy

Ordered based on good reviews. Simple set up. Very good router. Very pleased with this product and would buy again.

Published 22 days ago by Emily Moss

The last NETGEAR product I'll ever buy

I used to use NETGEAR products exclusively since 2000 when their equipment still sported "Bay Networks" logo. Read more

Published 26 days ago by The Gadgetman


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

134 of 138 people found the following review helpful

Easy and Powerful

By J. Harris on September 3, 2012

With the router that came with my high speed internet service, I had been having sporadic coverage in most of my house including a "weak" signal on my internet enabled TV in the very next room. Streaming movies and even music was hit and miss. I considered getting a range extender but as we all know, the chain is only as strong as the weakest link. After reading several reviews and product specs, I narrowed my search to the 6200. I was a bit concerned about the setup, but it truly was as easy as NETGEAR claims. I was up and running, two minutes tops. Phones, tablets, and TVs were all connected with ease. Then came the range test. The TV went from "weak" to "STRONG" and I'm no longer tethered to the lower floor of my house while working from home. I maintained a consistent signal upstairs, downstairs, and outside. Lastly, I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the USB ReadySHARE feature. Simply plug in your external media drive and have instant access to all of your office bound content on all of your other devices operating on your wireless network. Starting with this device before adding to my home network with other devices was definitely the right choice as a range extender is now nonessential. Awesome product.

4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

106 of 112 people found the following review helpful

Needed tech support to optimize settings

By Aquinski on November 5, 2012

I purchased this router to replace a wireless router that was several years old. I also have a Netgear Universal Range extender, WN3000RP, as we need to cover a rather large area. After installation I was having problems with three wireless devices, a desktop, tablet and phone. The desktop had trouble making a wireless connection, while the tablet and phone had trouble maintaining a connection. After trying to troubleshoot this on my own, I finally called Netgear's tech support number. After over 10 minutes of a hard sell for their extended warranty ($129 for an additional year!), I was finally forwarded to a tech who would help me. They also tried to sell me the extended warranty, but weren't quite as insistent as the first person. I ended up changing two settings at the routerlogin.net site. Once I explained my problem they knew exactly what needed to be done and it was fixed inside of 5 minutes, and the connections have been absolutely perfect since then for all devices, including the range extender. Just in case you have the same issues, here is what they instructed me to change: In the Advanced tab, under wireless setup, change the SSID channel from 'auto' to 11, and apply. Then in the WAN setup, change the MTU size from 1500 to 1400 and apply. Simple. It would have been much better to have more specific instructions from the beginning regarding these settings, but in the long run it was fixed rather quickly.

2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

39 of 43 people found the following review helpful

Decent Overall Router If You Can Look Past A Few Issues

By Frank R. Anderson VINE VOICE on January 16, 2013

Amazon Vine Review ( What's this? )

UPDATE (2/21/2013)
The security issue I mentioned is only an issue when using DLNA. You will be able to watch videos in any network folder that you have created whether you have set it to admin access only or not. Trying to access the folders through the network to get to anything other than videos will require the login information. I still find this to be unacceptable, but there you go.

The PS3 issues are occurring even when I use the bridge, but they are reduced significantly.

UPDATE (4/19/2013)
Okay, found another issue. When I make multiple network folders to point to the folders on my USB drive it forgets one of my other folders when I access it through the xbox. This is especially bad if I choose a folder inside another already created network folder. It also seems to have major problems with showing new folders that have been created. I had to delete the network folder and recreate it to get the media to show correctly. Now, I don't have this problem from my MacBook, but I also never had this problem with my previous router. I'm running the newest firmware. As much as I like this router for most of what it does, I can't recommend it if you are going to use the media server portion of it with an Xbox.

UPDATE (6/27/2013)
I've completely stopped using the usb storage option on the router and switched to using XBMC on a media server to stream video to different devices throughout the house. For whatever reason it just stopped being able to consistently process NFS traffic. I started having files disappear from folders, but worse would be that I would open another file which would then open as one of the files that had disappeared which meant I lost that file. Larger backup files started becoming corrupted as well.
Read more ›

5 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful

Netgear r6200

By J. Lindner on September 29, 2012

I bought this router because my old router was too bogged down due to the amount of wireless devices my household has amassed over the years. A router is like a street. When there is only a couple of houses on a road, traffic is minimal. But add an apartment building, a shopping center, and a grocery store and the road will bog down because of all the traffic. My old router was like that street. The Netgear R 6200 is like making that small road into a major thoroughfare. It can handle the traffic and has the power to extend my wireless signal to my back yard.

Netgear just seems to know how to make devices. This is easy to set up, they even provide a password to the buyer. This takes so much guess work out of the purchase. You can take the device from the box, plug it in, and in a matter of seconds (you obviously need a computer connected to the router) you are doing the minor set up work. The router is designed to be wireless, but with this model a wired connection gives the user a 1gigabyte connection. Once the router is set up, connecting peripherals like an Apple TV or an iPad is very simple. All my devices were connected to my wireless network in a matter of seconds. I attribute this to solid product engineering. They know what dummies like me need to get my device set up.

Once all your devices are connected, the router becomes the forgotten linchpin of your computer network. It runs, gets you online, and you're not even thinking about the router. Routers are no glamorous devices, but they carry the load and keep you surfing or shopping. The router has security settings that keep people off your network. This router is sleek and a workhorse. If you are experiencing slow wireless traffic, a new router may be just what you need. If you are in the market for a new router are just getting into wireless networking, I strongly recommend the Netgear R 6200.

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Sending feedback...

Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate,

Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy Used and Save: Buy a Used "NETGEAR Wireless Router - AC 1200 Dual Band Gigabi..." and save 68% off the $204.99 list price. Buy with confidence as the condition of this item and its timely delivery are guaranteed under the "Amazon A-to-z Guarantee". See all Used offers.
  • Buy Refurbished and Save: Buy a Refurbished "NETGEAR Wireless Router - AC 1200 Dual Band Gigabi..." and save 78% off the $204.99 list price. Buy with confidence as the condition of this item and its timely delivery are guaranteed under the "Amazon A-to-z Guarantee". See all Refurbished offers.

Product Description

From the Manufacturer

NETGEARR6200 Smart WiFi RouterR6200R6200

enlarge

AC1200 Dual Band Gigabit Router

  • Gigabit WiFi – 3 times the speed of 11n
  • Ultimate Range – Better bandwidth at any given range. Whole home coverage for HD Video streaming!
  • More Reliable – Stream HD Videos without buffering & jitters over WiFi
  • Compatible – Perfect for current & future WiFi devices. Maximum Wireless-N performance on Wireless-N devices

Beamforming+

  • Focuses your WiFi signal for stronger, faster, more reliable connections
  • Optimizes performance with two-way communication between your device and router
  • Locks in your WiFi signal even as your device moves around the home
  • Delivers stable WiFi connection for HD streaming and gaming
AC1200 Beamforming+

Network Speed

Fastest WiFiFaster WiFi Speed – Dual Band WiFi delivers 300 + 867Mbps for combined wireless speeds up to 1167MbpsGigabit WifiGigabit Wired – Gigabit Ethernet LAN ports are ideal for HD gaming & video & ultra-, high-speed wired networking

Wireless Range

Ultimate RangeUltimate Range – WiFi coverage throughout your home

Reliable Connections

Simultaneous Dual BandSimultaneous Dual Band – Wireless access on both 2.4 & 5GHz bandsBeamforming+Beamforming+ – provides a stronger, faster, more reliable connection that is locked in even when the device is moved around the homeAdvanced QosAdvanced QoS – Optimized for smooth HD streaming & gaming

Sharing

DLNA Media ServerDLNA Media Server – Find & play your media on DLNA TVs & game consolesReadySHARE USBReadySHARE USB – Wirelessly access & share USB hard drivesReadySHARE printerReadySHARE Printer – Wirelessly access & share a USB printer

Ease of Use

NETGEAR GenieNETGEAR genie App – Easy-to-use dashboard to monitor, control & repair home networksCD -Less InstallationEasy Installation – Easy setup for iPad, tablets, smartphones & computers  Push ‘N’ ConnectPush ‘N’ Connect – Secure push button WiFi connections (WPS)Wifi & Power On-OffWiFi & Power On/Off – Convenient power savings

Security

Live Parental ControlsLive Parental Controls – Web filtering for all your connected devicesGuest Network AccessGuest Network Access – Separate & secure access for guestsSecure Wifi ConnectionSecure WiFi Connections – Highest level wireless security with WPA/WPA2R6200 chart enlargeR6200 chart enlarge

Choose the wireless router that fits your needs

R6200R6250R6300
 R6200R6200 WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router R6250R6250 WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router R6300R6300 WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router
Performance   
Combined WiFi Speed1200Mbps1600Mbps1750Mbps
5GHz WiFi Speed867Mbps1300Mbps1300Mbps
2.4GHz WiFi Speed300Mbps300Mbps 450Mbps 
WiFi Range 1200Mbps 1600Mbps 1750Mbps
WiFi Transmit Power To Maximize Range BetterBestUltimate
Beamforming+yesyesyes
USB Ports 1 1 2
Client-supported Devices81012
Ethernet Ports – 4 LAN + 1 WAN Gigabit Ethernet Gigabit Ethernet Gigabit Ethernet
Features   
Live Parental Controlyesyesyes
Broadband Usage Meteryesyesyes
Guest Networksyesyesyes
DLNA Media Streamingyesyesyes
CD -Less Install With Smartphones/Tabletsyesyesyes
Premium Features    
Genie – Dashboard Controlyesyesyes
ReadySHARE Print yesyesyes
AirPrintyesyesyes
NETGEAR genie mobile

enlarge

NETGEAR genie
  • Easily manage, monitor & repair your network
  • Makes any printer AirPrint compatible to print from an iPad or iPhone
  • My Media—Find & play media files in your network
  • For PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad, & Android devices
NETGEAR
R6200 WiFi Router
Package Contents
  • R6200 WiFi Router
  • Ethernet cable
  • Quick install guide
  • Power adapter, localized to country of sale
System Requirements
  • Microsoft Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, Mac OS, UNIX, or Linux
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0, Firefox 2.0,Safari 1.4, or Google Chrome 11.0 browsersor higher

Product Description

NETGEAR R6200 Smart WiFi Router R6200 R6200

View Larger

AC1200 Performance & Use

  • AC1200 WiFi – 300 + 867 Mbps speeds
  • Wireless coverage for large homes
  • Ideal for homes with 8 or more WiFi devices
  • NETGEAR genie App – Enjoy more of your connected home

Product Highlights
  • 800 MHz processor delivers high-performance connectivity
  • USB 3.0 port – Up to 10x faster USB hard drive access
  • Beamforming+ – Faster, more reliable connections
  • Connectivity for dual band WiFi devices like iPad/iPhone5
AC1200   Beamforming+

Ultimate WiFi Speed

Fastest WiFi

AC1200 WiFi – Up to 300+867 Mbps

Gigabit Wifi

Gigabit Wired – Ideal for HD gaming & video

Ultimate WiFi Range

Ultimate Range

Better Range – Wireless coverage for large homes

Reliable Connections

Simultaneous Dual Band

Simultaneous Dual Band – Reduces interference for better connections to more WiFi devices

Advanced Qos

Advanced QoS – Optimized for smooth HD streaming & gaming

Beamforming+

Beamforming+ – Boosts speed, reliability, & range of WiFi connections

Sharing

DLNA Media Server

DLNA Media Server – Find & play your media on DLNA TVs & game consoles

ReadySHARE USB

ReadySHARE USB – Wirelessly access & share USB hard drives via one (1) USB 3.0 port

ReadySHARE USB

One Superspeed USB 3.0 Port – Up to 10x faster than USB 2.0

ReadySHARE printer

ReadySHARE Printer – Wirelessly access & share a USB printer

Ease of Use

NETGEAR Genie

NETGEAR genie App – Easy-to-use dashboard to monitor, control & repair home networks

CD -Less Installation

Easy Installation – Easy setup for iPad, tablets, smartphones & computers

  Push ‘N’ Connect

Push ‘N’ Connect – Secure push button WiFi connections (WPS)

Wifi & Power On-Off

WiFi & Power On/Off – Convenient power savings

Security

Live Parental Controls

Parental Controls – Web filtering for all your connected devices

Guest Network Access

Guest Network Access – Separate & secure access for guests

Secure Wifi Connection

Secure WiFi Connections – Highest level wireless security with WPA/WPA2

click images to enlarge

R6200 chart   R6200 chart

Choose the wireless router that fits your needs

R6200v2 R6250 R6300v2 R7000
  R6200R6200v2 WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router R6250R6250 WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router R6300R6300v2 WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router R7000R7000 WiFi Dual Band Gigabit Router
Performance        
Combined WiFi Speed 1200 Mbps 1600 Mbps 1750 Mbps 1900 Mbps
5GHz WiFi Speed 867 Mbps 1300 Mbps 1300 Mbps 1300 Mbps
2.4GHz WiFi Speed 300 Mbps 300 Mbps 450 Mbps 300 Mbps
Processor Speed 800MHz Dual Core 800MHz Dual Core 800MHz Dual Core 1GHz
USB Storage Access Speed Better Best Best Ultimate
Range Better Better Best Ultimate
Specifications        
Client-supported devices 8+ 10+ 12+ 12+
Simultaneous Dual Band WiFi (2.4GHz & 5 GHz) yes yes yes yes
USB Ports 1 USB 3.0 1 USB 3.0 1 USB 2.0 + 1 USB 3.0 1 USB 2.0 + 1 USB 3.0
Ethernet Ports 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
Key Features        
NETGEAR genie yes yes yes yes
Guest Networks yes yes yes yes
Live Parental Controls yes yes yes yes
Broadband Usage Meter yes yes yes yes
DLNA yes yes yes yes
Beamforming+ yes yes yes yes
Open Source Support (from myopenrouter.com) yes yes yes yes
ReadySHARE USB yes yes yes yes
ReadySHARE Printer yes yes yes yes
ReadySHARE Vault       yes
Apple Time Machine Compatible       yes
Personal FTP Server       yes
VPN Support       yes
Advanced QoS for Video Streaming       yes
Advanced QoS for Gaming       yes
iTunes Compatible       yes
Applications        
Email, chat, surf yes yes yes yes
Online gaming yes yes yes yes
HD Streaming yes yes yes yes
Multiple HD Streaming yes yes yes yes
NETGEAR genie mobile

NETGEAR genie app

  • Home network manager
  • Makes any printer AirPrint compatible to print from an iPad or iPhone
  • My Media – Find and play media files in your network
  • EX Mobile connect – Scan QR code to connect to your home network
  • Turbo-Transfer – Quickly transfer files within your home network across various devices 40% faster than normal file transfers
  • For PC, Mac, iPhone, iPad, & Android devices
Beamforming

What is Beamforming+?

  • Focuses WiFi signals from the wireless router to WiFi devices like smartphones, tablets & laptops
  • Automatic signal management checks with your device to keep WiFi signal at its optimal strength
  • Designed for home environments to support multiple WiFi device connections for highest quality
  • Extends WiFi coverage, reduces dead spots, & boosts signal strength
  • Beamforming+ boosts speed & range for the newest AC WiFi devices like Macbook Air & Samsung Galaxy S4
NETGEAR
R6200 WiFi Router
Package Contents
  • R6200v2 Smart WiFi Router
  • Ethernet cable
  • Quick install guide
  • Power adapter, localized to country of sale
System Requirements
  • Microsoft Windows 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000, Mac OS, UNIX, or Linux
  • Microsoft Internet Explorer 5.0, Firefox 2.0,Safari 1.4, or Google Chrome 11.0 browsers or higher

Product Details

www.reviewselectronics.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.
www.reviewselectronics.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon EU Associates Programme, an affiliate advertising programme designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.co.uk.